You are currently viewing NAAC: Revised Grading Pattern For Higher Educational Institutions

NAAC: Revised Grading Pattern For Higher Educational Institutions

  • Post category:NAAC

NAAC has launched a revised accreditation framework which became operational in July 2017.

New Delhi: The National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) has revised the grading pattern and identified several criteria as basis for assessment of Higher Educational Institutions (HEIs). This was stated by the Minister of State (HRD), Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey in response to a Lok Sabha question. The written response mentioned that as per the revised grading system, HEIs are awarded eight types of letter grades viz. A, A, A, B, B, B, C and D. The revised grading pattern will help in differentiating HEIs on the basis of their qualitative performance. This will also ensure healthy competition among the institutions and will subsequently improve the standards of Higher Education.

The key criteria set by NAAC are:

  • Curricular Aspects
  • Teaching-learning and evaluation
  • Research, consultancy and extension
  • Infrastructure and learning resources
  • Student support and progression
  • Governance , Leadership and Management
  • Innovations and Best Practices

Further Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey has mentioned that, “HEIs with Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) ranging between 3.76 and 4.00 get the highest grade of accreditation i.e. ‘A’ whereas, institutions with CGPA of 1.5 or less are not accredited. The revised grading pattern has the potential to make differentiation within HEIs in terms of their qualitative performance and to ensure healthy competition among these institutions to improve the standards of Higher Education.”

A total of 1256 HEIs have been accredited by NAAC till 22 February 2017. Out of total number of colleges, 1 University and 3 colleges have been assessed and accredited at A between 1 July 2016 and 22 February 2017.

The highest grade of accreditation depends on how the HEIs have taken steps to improve upon the education infrastructure as per the set standards/criteria outlined by NAAC under the revised grading system.